Uncategorized

A Thank You Note To Late Night TV

Some of you may know that once you live with someone, its the little things that make us happy. For instance, having the place to yourself for a day. Don’t get me wrong, we love our significant others, but we can’t be with them at all hours of the day. Remember the moments when you were sixteen and you thought it was the end of the world if you didn’t see them EVERY SINGLE DAY? But we are adults now, which means when we are alone, we eat ice cream, drink beer, and watch whatever the hell we want on television.

Usually my time to watch anything is late at night once Sam has gone to bed. A TV show to make me laugh is of course, Friends. 

You’ve got the overbearing Ross who is like a slow moving turtle that at times, depresses you. You’ve got the comedic Chandler to turn everything into a sarcastic joke even with a simple “hello”. You’ve got hunky Joey, also known as Dr. Drake Ramoray, who thought the U.S. fought off the Nazis in World War I.

And then of course, the ladies, such as Rachel, who is lovable and adorable and has Gunther as an admirer. Monica, the chef, the cleaner, the obsessor, and the perfectionist. And then Phoebe, who is completely out-there with her smelly cat songs, and also gets to marry Paul Rudd.

I came across a show last night that I haven’t seen in quite a while. So if you’re ready for a tear-fest, please watch My 600-lb Life on TLC.
We watch these shows on TLC because we can’t relate to them, the opposite of what most shows do. I know I can’t relate to My 600-lb Life or with Toddlers and Tiara, Dance Moms, and Here Comes Honey Boo-Boo. We watch them because they are so outrageous and nearly unbelievable that it’s hard not to be captivated by these people. It’s like MTV without the alcohol poisoning and one-night-stands. Sure, that’s considered realty TV, but it’s too real. We want realty TV that we don’t want to believe is real.

I was so intrigued by My 600-lb Life, especially since they follow one particular person for seven years! I had to watch beginning to end because I wanted to see if that person ever made their goal weight, or if they went back to their old bad eating habits and lack of exercise. You see them go out in public which for most of them, is physically hurtful and exhausting, but also emotional since people stare at them a lot. Didn’t your mama ever teach you that staring is impolite?

Now, my all-time favorite channel, ID.

Thank you ID, because I have had some of my best nights with friends watching this channel, and it’s always a wonderful feeling when I find fellow lovers within the ID community. For those who have never watched this channel…what makes it so great are the titles for their shows.
1. Wives with Knives
2. Fear Thy Neighbor
3. Southern Fried Homicide
4. Who the Bleep Did I Marry?
5. Swamp Murders
6. Fatal Encounters
7. Blood, Lies, and Alibis
8. Deadly Affairs
9. Deadly Women
10. Very Bad Men
11. Handsome Devils
12. Evil Kin
13. Behind Mansion Walls
14. A Stranger in My Home
15. Redrum
Of course, the show itself isn’t funny, since its about murder. But as a regular watcher, I find it very unnecessary to create a new show every month with pretty much the same concept. But those ID commercials make the channel so entertaining, and don’t even get me started on the hosts.
What’s unfortunate is that it’s hard to take a show so seriously with a title like Southern Fried Homicide. They must hire a bunch of people to create ridiculous titles every month and then just call it a “new show” to keep the channel running. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

So thank you, to all that late night TV, because you know you’re getting older when you’re completely satisfied staying in on a Saturday night and watching these magnificent channels.

Standard

Leave a Reply

