Uncategorized

Slowly Losing Your Mind When Unemployed

It’s been a little over two months since I moved to California, and while it’s been great enjoying my free time and adjusting, I still have not found a job. I didn’t think it was going to be this difficult. I knew it would be hard, but not two long months of continuously applying for jobs anywhere from retail to professional entry-level. These days, entry-level means absolutely nothing. Most entry-level positions look like this:

Qualifications: BA required; Master’s preferred. At least 3 years experience in (said field or related) with knowledge of (software and computer programs nobody just has on their computer just because) and fluent in Spanish. Must have (some random certificate/license).

It is nearly impossible for a recent post-grad to live up to “entry-level” qualifications. Instead, you end up contacting a staffing agency that either places you in a completely random field you’ve never studied nor are interested in, or they forget about you after two phone calls and you’re back to square one. What happened to entry-level positions in whatever field you’re interested in to ask for those who literally have no experience? Isn’t that technically what entry-level should be? Nowadays, nobody wants to train an entry-level person. So they’ve upped the competition and ask for someone with actual experience to fill in that spot. But that kind of sucks to those with a Master’s Degree and numerous years of experience, because it makes it even harder on them to find a higher position. It’s a domino effect, really.

But, here’s the weird thing. I actually have one year of professional experience that paid me well, but now that I’ve moved out here, restaurants won’t even hire me. Sam says I’m probably “over-qualified and believe something better will come along” for me. That’s a little frustrating if you ask me. With my last year of grad school becoming more difficult, stressful, and fast approaching the end, I’d like to have a flexible schedule. I actually missed communicating with individuals face to face even if I was just handing them a beer.

So now I’m living the unemployed life, and I’m starting to lose my mind. Laziness has ensued. I have no energy for the day of nothingness. I’ve always been the type of person where if I have too much time on my hands, I will not get anything done. I’ll keep blowing it off by saying, “Oh I have all day. I’ll get to it later.” And before I know it, it’s 9pm and I’m ready for bed. I start feeling like I’m in an asylum staring at four blank white walls. I sometimes just lay in my bed and watch the ceiling fan. I get snappy because Sam works from home so I’m around him during all hours of the day unless he’s at his internships. It’s not his fault. I’m just naturally in a weird and bad mood because of my position. Just to get out of the house, I walk to the Coffee Bean and get a latte, and I’ve done this so much that the barista knows my name now.

And after weeks of doing absolutely nothing, I’ve come to the realization. I would make a horrible housewife. Seriously. I would hate every second of it. The only good part of that in my eyes is the cooking and baking, because I love to do both. Everything else, forget about it. I hate cleaning. Once again, I’d blow it off entirely and Sam would tell me we have to have a cleaning day. I hate doing laundry. I find it to be a hassle and I just wait until I have no underwear left. This is also due to the fact that we have to use quarters in order to do laundry, and we never have any. I hate running errands. Sure, it gets me out of the house for a little bit, but as soon as I’ve done one thing, I’m rushing to do the rest so that I can get home.

Unemployment for an extended period of time makes your brain all mushy and fuzzy. You can’t focus on one thing after 10 minutes and you start saying strange things that pop into your head. Here’s a great example of the kind of person you turn into:

I now understand why “being homeless” is such an issue in this country. Obviously, I have not reached that point and most likely won’t, but I get it. Being unemployed turns us into drunk and drugged up Kristen Wiigs, whether we express it internally or externally. Those “crazy homeless people” you see in the streets were once in our position only it went downhill from there. Anytime someone sees a homeless person talking to themselves, it’s not necessarily because their crazy. They’re just lonely. Think about this: you lose your job, you can’t find another one, you run out of money, you get evicted, you live in your car, you sell your car for extra money, you live on the streets, you lose your family and friends, etc. You would probably start talking to yourself too.

Just remember, you have friends and family to support during these rough times. Not everyone does!

TGIF. Now I won’t feel bad tomorrow for “doing nothing”.

Standard

One thought on “Slowly Losing Your Mind When Unemployed

  1. Pingback: How I Found My Halloween Costume | You're Fine

Leave a Reply

