Uncategorized

Recap of the Golden Globes

I’m going to admit something here. The Golden Globes is not my favorite. It doesn’t compare to the Oscars or the Grammys, at least not for me. But anything Tina Fey and Amy Poehler host, I’m watching it.

Sam and I got into a discussion of the difference because The Oscars, The Golden Globes, The Emmy’s, etc. Of course, winning an Oscar is like, the greatest achievement of all time, but when we typically have that award ceremony in late February, early March, what exactly is the purpose of the Golden Globes? I decided to Google it.

Here are some of the differences I’ve summed up for you:

1. The Globes has a more party atmosphere, while the Oscars highlight serious movies that people cry over, which is probably why Amy and Tina got a away with that Billy Cosby joke.

2. The Oscars are nominated through 6,000 members of the Academy, while the Globes is nominated through the 90 members of the Hollywood Foreign Press…the difference is utterly shocking, I know.

3. The Globes give awards to TV series….just like the Emmy’s!

4. The Oscars typically give awards to movies you haven’t even seen yet, which is a little frustrating in my book, and weird. So basically, if your movie came out between March and October, you’re most likely not winning an Oscar.

That’s about it.

However, one thing I did notice is the amount of times they brought up some form of social issue during the awards. I’m all for it, but when nearly every speech is about something to that nature, I feel as though I’m getting beat to death with it. Bringing it up two or three times is completely normal, depending on the award it’s going to. I watch and read the news everyday, so my brain is already filled with that information.

Here are some of my favorite highlights of the 2015 Golden Globes.

Amy and Tina Moments

“Good evening and welcome you bunch of despicable, spoiled, minimally-talented brats.”

“In the 1960s, thousands of black people from all over America came together with one common goal: to form Sly and the Family Stone. But the movie Selma is about the American civil rights movement that totally worked and now everything’s fine.”

“George Clooney married Amal Alamuddin. Amal is a human rights lawyer who worked on the Enron case, was an advisor to Kofi Annan regarding Syria and was selected for a three-person UN commission investigating rules of war violations in the Gaza strip… so tonight her husband is getting a lifetime achievement award.”

“We celebrate at the great television shows we know and love and all the movies North Korea was OK with … North Korea referred to The Interview as absolutely intolerable and a wanton act of terror, and that wasn’t the worst review the movie got.”
“In Into the Woods, Cinderella runs from her prince, Rapunzel is thrown from a tower for her prince, and Sleeping Beauty just thought she was getting coffee with Bill Cosby.”

“Jennifer Aniston is here tonight, nominated for the film Cake. We should explain for the Hollywood people in the room: Cake is like a fluffy desert that people eat on their birthdays … And birthdays are thing people celebrate when they admit that they’ve aged”.

Gotta love Amy and Tina.

They didn’t get much stage time after that Billy Cosby joke though…….

I’m not going to go over who won because you probably already know. But every time I watch these award shows, I’m reminded how much I don’t go out. For instance, now I need to see Selma, The Theory of Everything, and Pride, because I can’t even follow these award shows if I haven’t seen it.

I was extremely bummed that Reese Witherspoon did not receive an award for Wild, or that Orange Is The New Black won absolutely nothing.

However, Kevin Spacey and Ricky Gervais made my night following Tina Fey and Amy Poehler.

Kevin Spacey: “This is just the beginning of my revenge … this is the eighth time I’ve been nominated. I can’t fucking believe I won.”

Ricky Gervais: “Going well, isn’t it? Let’s not ruin it. By me saying anything, really. No one wants to see me insult any of you rich, beautiful, over privileged celebrities. So no ordinary people at home wants to see that because you’re better than ordinary people, because you know it and they know it deep down, so I’m not gonna start picking on things you’ve done, some of it immoral, a lot of it illegal. But if we’ve learned one thing, it’s that famous people are above the law. As it should be. So I’m not gonna talk about all the terrible things you’ve done to get here tonight. Streep and Clooney. I’m not even looking at Katie Holmes.”

^^^ Can I marry him already?

Best Dressed Award

Greer Grammer, Miss Golden Globe 2015

Worst Dressed Award

Kiera Knightley

 I Channeled Chrissy Tiegen Throughout The Entire Awards Show

Standard

Leave a Reply

