Attempting to talk sports, I Wasn't Worried, I'm not a mommy blogger, Internet Things, Things I Need, Uncategorized

The Madness Is Real.

Ben Brust, Traevon Jackson

‘Tis my favorite time of year: March Madness. When I was a young, naïve, and petty little girl, I despised any and all sports. I didn’t even know what March Madness was until about 5 years ago when I met Sam. Now, I can’t get enough of the randomness that ensues, the victory, and the disappointment. For the past 3 years, I’ve joined a group with Sam and his family, eagerly filling out my bracket. I like to pick the opposite team from Sam mostly because I can’t have us both winning at life. I need to bring him down. Every year, Sam has won……….

This year is my year!

I’ve done thorough research on the teams involved this year. I’ve turned into that geeky, unshowered 14 year old boy in his basement looking up stats on his laptop with empty Cheetos wrappers all over the floor with Monster energy drinks. I need this. Sam can’t win them all folks. No. I don’t even care if I don’t win. Him not winning means I’ve won.

I’ve changed my ways this time around. I’ve decided to not be so predictable and go by that tiny little number in the corner next to the team name. I decided to go with my gut, which means letting a few underdogs slip on by.

.

.

I’m all like, “Hey man, I’m rooting for you. You got this.”

I love a good underdog story. So while everyone is banking on Kentucky to win it all, I’ve got my eyes on Wisconsin. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know. Kentucky is undefeated, blah blah blah. I feel like picking them is a little too obvious. Something’s going to happen, it always does. It’s basketball for crying out loud. There’s never a sure thing. That’s why March Madness is absolute madness. Who knows, Kentucky could choke while in Sweet 16. You never know. I could do all my research and every article I read has a different prediction of the outcome. You’ve got Iowa State, Virginia, Arizona, and Kansas. So many to choose from! So while I am rooting for Wisconsin to go all the way, I hope to beat down Sam and his ego.

My work even has a bracket going on, and I have a chance to win a $100 gift card. So I went with Kentucky, because I mean, it’s Kentucky.

h

.

Sorry Wisconsin. You’re still my beau.

 

Standard

5 thoughts on “The Madness Is Real.

  1. I remember the days back when I filled those out religiously. The best thing to do is pick upsets in the first two rounds, especially at least 1 or 2 5 versus 12 matchups, and then as the tournament goes farther, less and less upsets. Usually you want 2 1’s, a 2 and a 3 or 4. Usually that is how it plays out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

