Humor, Internet Things, News, Social Media

Taylor Nation – A Hate-Love Kind of Relationship

taylor-swift_416x416

I used to despise Taylor Swift. I did not jump on the Taylor train, but the weird part is that I hated her because I liked her. Did her songs annoy me to an extent? Yes, absolutely. Did I buy every single hit song on iTunes? Of course. That girl knows how to grab an audience, and she does it well with annoyingly catchy songs that makes me want to turn into a middle schooler all over again and dance on top of my mattress singing into a hairbrush.

ng-6

It’s been “confirmed”, so to speak, that Taylor is now currently dating Calvin Harris. I have to say, I’m pretty proud of Taylor. She really hasn’t “dated” anyone in quite some time. Not like before when her relationships lasted three minutes and within five minutes she was onto the next guy. Sure, her and Harry Styles have been on and off, but for the most part, she has been spotted alone or with friends. A big slap on the back for Taylor! Personally, I think she needed that. That girl had no idea what she wanted in a man, but the only way to know is to date a string of jerks and weirdos. I think, compared to most celebrities, she has grown the most. Her music style has changed, and her string of boys have changed. For once, we are seeing an actual human being who just happens to be famous, grow into a woman we feel confident she wants to be. Another big slap on the back for Taylor!

Those of you who have followed this blog from the beginning know that one of my favorite things to do after watching a video or reading articles are the comments that follow. They irritate me beyond belief. There have been times I’ve never wanted to punch a stranger in the face so badly before, and they weren’t even speaking directly to me, but just by existing as a commenter bothered me. This is naturally all on Facebook, the Complain-About-Life-Politics-Society-Parents-School-Marriages-Children capitol of the internet. Everyone is constantly spilling their guts on Facebook, and let’s be real, nobody gives a shit. So, I just HAD to read the comments about Taylor Swift’s new man. They were the usual, “Just another love song to write about…”, and “No! He can do better!” and the whole, “Now she can make millions on a song about him and he won’t get a dime…”

I have to ask. What is with this insane annoyance with Taylor writing love songs? Think of every single band, singer, and writer, and I guarantee 100% of them have written about love. The Beatles, Nirvana, Bruno Mars, Michael Jackson, Prince, Fall Out Boy, Katy Perry, you name it. Every single artist has written about love! So why is everyone hating on Taylor for doing it?

Because she has a long list of ex-lovers, that’s why. It’s what Taylor knows. You can’t write a novel about the Vietnam War if you know absolutely nothing about the Vietnam War. Secondly, those who continuously say that’s all she writes about most likely haven’t listened to any of her other songs that were not on the iTunes top 100. Chances are, you may find a few that could be about her damn cat.

You’re going to have people who are going to say, “Oh, you know, like, she just writes songs about her ex-boyfriends.” And I think frankly that’s a very sexist angle to take. No one says that about Ed Sheeran. No one says that about Bruno Mars. They’re all writing songs about their exes, their current girlfriends, their love life, and no one raises the red flag there.

In my personal opinion, I think Taylor could be the one that does better. She writes all of her own songs, and they are good. They make a statement, and it says what she needs to say. But Calvin Harris? Example:

When I met you in the summer
To my heartbeat sound
We fell in love
As the leaves turned brown

And we could be together baby
As long as skies are blue

(Summer, Calving Harris)

Very poetic shit right there. Did a third grader write this song? I don’t get the hype of Calvin Harris unless he’s paired up with Rihanna and Ellie Goulding.

Thirdly, why would any of the guys she’s written about get paid? She doesn’t state their full name. If she were to sing, “Hey John Mayer, you’re a tool…”, he could sue her and get compensated. But she doesn’t do that. She doesn’t even mention a name at times, so are they just supposed to guess because she talks about dark brown hair or something? That’s just stupid. Why would you pay someone else for coming up with something creative on your own? You probably wouldn’t agree to that if it were you…

The last and most popular comment of all comments is, “Who cares?!” Well, clearly you did otherwise you wouldn’t have clicked on the damn article. Look, I get it. We care a lot about celebrities. We give them a certain amount of fame we probably shouldn’t. And not enough fame to those who deserve it. But, to say it’s changed so much in the past fifty years is a lie. The only thing that has changed is technology. To say that onlookers didn’t care who Marilyn Monroe was dating is a bit ridiculous. They just didn’t have the information at the click of a button like we do now. They didn’t find out within minutes of their first kiss, or hand holding like we do now. And those One Direction fans we all giggle about? That is exactly how Beatles fans acted. The only difference today is that they have a phone to document their freak outs. In reality, our envy over celebrities has not changed. It’s just constantly shoved in our faces because of the internet and social media. It’s everywhere you look.

One Direction Fans

One Direction Fans

RETRO ENTERTAINMENT

Beatles Fans, 1960’s

 Now, I expect to gain at least ten Taylor Swift fans on Twitter because that’s what happens. I say, “I like Taylor Swift”, and suddenly I get these followers for a whole five minutes before they realize I have a life and don’t tweet about her every thirty seconds. This is our world now.

Standard

13 thoughts on “Taylor Nation – A Hate-Love Kind of Relationship

  1. I am a fan of Taylor Swift, of course, because my little girl, (I say through gritted teeth). But actually she is super talented, the songs are really catchy and well written, and to deal with fame is a hard thing. Though nothing like what us commoners have to deal with, but problems nonetheless. Anyways, the whole dating/writing song thing I don’t really care about. In fact, if I was a song writer I would do the same thing. I excel at passive aggressive digs against people in all my writing. And you are right. People just need to chill.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a great rant. Personally, I’m not that much of a fan of her. Probably because I’m not really the target audience for her music, though some songs are catchy (don’t tell anyone I said that). I honestly think people see her get into a relationship and think that she’s only doing it so she can write a song about them in a few months, rather than she’s in a relationship because that’s what people do at her age.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha, Jessie I love you!! “Hey John Mayer, you’re a tool…” That was glorious. And I totally agree with you, although I don’t listen to much of her music from the last few years. I started liking her back in like 2006 when she was just a teen from Pennsylvania and her album was this little $5 thing I’d blast throughout my house and think about the boy I liked at that time. (Just the other day, I was listening to that first album and doing exactly the same thing so not much has changed lol.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

