Awkward, Humor, You're Fine

Reliving Mad Minutes

School is coming to a close soon for most kids, if it hasn’t ended already. I always find it weird when I hear of high school graduations taking place in the month of May but that’s just me. The one thing I really miss about going to public school is the annual back-to-school shopping spree, and not just for clothes, but for new pens, pencils, notebooks, binders, the whole sha-bang. I still get a little twinkle in my eye when I need to buy a new notebook. I started thinking of the one very thing I have not missed since my elementary school days and it’s this:

E41 Division

Never again.

The daunting Mad Minute.

Those of you who have had the luxury of never coming across this monstrosity, let me explain. 60 math questions, and you have one minute to complete all of them. If you’re anything like me, and the very idea of math gives you a brain cramp no matter how simple the question is, this is your worst nightmare. I had such anxiety as a kid over this stupid sheet because I truly sucked at this. I was the kid that maybe, MAYBE, got five math answers down. Meanwhile, the kid next to me flew by, pencil just skimming over his paper, his feet tapping in anticipation, and always got all 60 answers down. Everyone would turn to each other and glow over how many answers they got, and I just flipped mine over. They also did this sheet for addition, subtraction, and multiplication.

I’m pretty sure this took place from third grade all the way to sixth grade, and each time it was an embarrassment. Probably just as bad as being called up to the board to complete a problem that looks like it’s written in Arabic. I don’t even think this exercise helped much when it came to improving in math.

1340050882014_3068657

For some reason, if you weren’t good at math or science, it meant you were dumb. But give me English and Social Studies, I flew through those courses perfectly fine. Yet no matter how well I did in English and Social Studies, math and science meant you were smart. But then again, my school wasn’t exactly normal. They gave me a crossword puzzle about the different parts of the eye when I was in the third grade, and I still can’t complete a crossword puzzle. Needless to say, that didn’t go over so well either.

200w-5

 Some other little things I don’t miss:

Remembering a combination to a locker I probably used twice.

200w-6

Having to lug around my jacket in the winter because I chose not to have that useless locker…

200-44

Having back problems every day until summer vacation.

200-45

Having gym class first thing in the morning.

200-47

And lastly, breaking out of that uncomfortable stage of not having to ask to go to the bathroom.

200-48

Grade school, you have not been missed.

Standard

18 thoughts on “Reliving Mad Minutes

  1. Those days are long since gone for me except now I get to relive them through my two boys. Believe you me, it sucks going through it all a second and third time. I’m thinking maybe once they’re both in college things will get easier? Maybe more expensive though… 🙂

    Like

  2. The math thing reminds me so much of the 5 minute quizes we used to do – 100 money problems in 5 minutes. We started with “change from £1”, then “change from £10”, and finally “change from £5″… remarkably, it did (eventually) teach you how to do money in your head really quickly, but everybody figured their own methods out – so the school taught us nothing directly :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I didn’t start getting good at it until I was waitressing. I have to be put in the situation rather than being told the situation. With that being said, I never did too hot in math during school haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

