Festivities, Girls, Humor, I'm not a mommy blogger

How I Found My Halloween Costume

It’s August, but I feel it’s a necessity to think about what I want to be for Halloween this year. Mostly because I will plan and plan and plan, and then it will be the night before Halloween and I scramble through my clothes hoping to make something out of anything. Sometimes the ideas I come up with never work out so I’d like to be prepared. But this year, I found my calling, and it’s only fitting because of the way my life is going right now.

I haven’t made any announcements about this because it’s not something I’d like to scream from the rooftops all the way to Catalina, but I’m currently unemployed, and have been for a couple of months now. I jumped on the “I’ve just been laid-off” train, and while it hurt during the first week, along with inner panic, I’ve now accepted it. I spent three weeks in my hometown with family and friends and it brought me back to my former self.

While it was a huge blow to our current success during our first year in California, Sam and I both agreed this was different. You see, exactly eleven months ago, I wrote a post about being unemployed. I was losing my mind. We had just moved out here to Long Beach, and we were quickly running out of money, and I was still in school. I don’t do well in school if I have too much time on my hands because then I will keep blowing it off. I like to be busy. I was interviewing job after job, and the worst part was that I didn’t even want the jobs I was interviewing for. I was set up with the interviews through my staffing agency, and almost 99% of the time, they hook you up with random jobs that have nothing to do with your goals and desires. Ever since I was laid off, I promised myself not to go through it again. I’m quite tired of constantly preparing for jobs I have no interest in just because I need to get by. I have a furnished apartment, food, a car, and money in my savings to help me until I figure it out. My goal this year is to find and interview for jobs I truly have a desire to be in. I’m finally familiar with my surroundings with the support of Sam and our friends, and I finally have my Master’s. This situation is entirely different than last year.

But, of course, I’ve come to the realization I make a less than decent housewife…or housegirlfriend I should say. Sam will give me a list of things to do to keep me busy, and nearly every single day, I get started on that list around 1pm. It’s things like: groceries, do the dishes, vacuum, laundry, etc. And the sad part is that I don’t always finish the list because I know I have all day tomorrow to do it.

I’ve basically been channeling Betty Draper from Mad Men when she finds out Don is a manwhore.

200-5

Back to the Halloween costume.

I didn’t have a robe. Just a regular, good old-fashioned robe for when I get out of the shower and just want to lounge for 30 minutes before actually getting dressed. I decided to use my Amazon Prime and find a nice, silky kimono robe to purchase. Well, the robe finally showed up today!

20150805_163257

It fits perfectly and it’s absolutely comfortable. It’s wonderful for this hot, California weather we will continue to have through October. But it’s the type of robe that I told Sam to not be surprised to come home to me sitting with the robe on at four o’clock in the afternoon with a cigarette and vodka on the rocks. And then it hit me.

I will just portray an extremely disturbing, gross picture of a lazy, crappy housewife for Halloween. I’ve got the robe, hair curlers, 1960’s sunglasses, red lipstick, fill a small glass with water and ice cubes because vodka on the rocks makes me want to vomit, and buy some candy cigarettes. BOOM. Costume.

200-4

I have to pat myself on the back for actually putting together a costume made purely out of nothing. And at the end of the day, I’m laughing at my own situation of at least attempting to take care of the household. Kudos to those who are/were housewives because I’m just not cut out for it.

Until I find a job…Betty Draper on.

200-6

Standard

2 thoughts on “How I Found My Halloween Costume

  1. Sherri says:

    I think I did a version of her one year myself. I was probably around your age too, lol. I also had a blast doing a bag lady. Don’t forget to “act” the part all night as well. Makes it so much more fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

