Books, Out of the Ordinary

Melancholy – Resulting From Books

photo-1434210330765-8a00109fc773

I often wonder if there are others out in the world like me, who tend to get a little on the sad side when done reading a book. It’s a habit of mine, and completely unintentional, but every time I finish reading a book, I just get quiet. Sam will constantly ask me if I’m okay. I could go hours after finishing a book without saying a word. He tries to talk to me, but I’m not listening, silently nodding my head to whatever it is he is saying.

I just spent the entire weekend reading Paper Towns by John Green. I started Friday night and finished it Sunday late afternoon. It wasn’t one of my favorite books of all time, but the story got me going and I couldn’t put the book down. If a few hours passed, I’d have that urge to pick the book up again and start flipping through fifty pages. Before I know it, the sun sets and it’s night time, and I’ve killed 150 pages.

I didn’t cry at the end. Not like I did with The Fault In Our Stars, but it just got me thinking about the ending in general. I wasn’t totally satisfied with it because I like happy endings. The ending wasn’t sad or depressing. It just existed – that’s all. It just was. But what I hate most about finishing a book is having to say goodbye to the characters I’ve invested so much time with. It’s sounds cheesy, corny, and a little ridiculous, but when you’ve spent your entire weekend with Margo Roth Spiegelman and Quentin Jacobsen, you eventually start to miss them when it’s over. While the characters are not gone forever, but simply sitting on my book shelf for later use, it’s not nearly the same reading a book a second or third time. I already know who they are as characters, their story, and the ending.

So, am I the only one in the world who gets a little melancholy when finishing a book? Do you too, need to get some fresh air, walk around, and contemplate all of the endings you would have rather witnessed? But deep down, you know that ending was right, so you enjoy it so much more hours after finishing it?

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Melancholy – Resulting From Books

  1. Depends on the book and how invested I am in the characters, but I can totally relate. This happened for me with The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. As annoying and imperfect as most of the characters were, I became so invested in their livelihoods..,and I was so sad to see the book end. I had actually started reading another book and couldn’t help but think, “Gosh, I still wish I was reading The Casual Vacancy.”

    Part of the magic of a good novel is that it can do that to you, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

