Humor, Internet Things, Social Media, Things I Need, Writing

Grammar Police

As some of you may know, I enjoy reading comments on articles, Facebook statuses, and videos. I find it hilariously infuriating and enlightening all at once. Most of the time when I see an angry commenter, it’s either a little teenager who thinks they know all about the world and how it works (Ummm, hi? Have you heard of Boys Meet World?) or it’s an elderly crabby woman who owns a lot of cats.

We all know what the Grammar Police is. It’s our go-to insult. I recently read a comment stating if you are only insulting the other person strictly on grammar and not on their actual thought, then the problem is with you, and you’re not as intelligent as you seem.

It got me wondering why our first instinct is to break down the other person’s grammar.

I’m no grammar expert. In fact, my grammar is pretty awful if I’m truly not paying attention. I’m sure some of you will find a million mistakes within this post, and that’s fine by me. But why is it so satisfying to see someone make an argument, only to notice that they can’t seem to figure out the difference between “your” and “you’re”?

It’s no wonder why our society can never move forward. If you were in a hot debate with someone about cleaning products, but you were arguing face to face, you’d be more inclined to actually listen to them instead of pointing out their horrible flaws such as grammar and the wrong use of a verb. Don’t get me wrong. Seeing your high school enemy pick a fight with someone on social media, only to use a word incorrectly, or doesn’t use any form of punctuation gives you a spring in your step. It makes you feel alive, empowered, and even thankful for all of those hate notes they used to pass to you in the hallway. It gives you an ounce of pride as if saying, “Oh yeah? Well, at least I can spell the word ‘hospital’!” I’d say that’s a normal thing to feel. It’s even better witnessing a status complaining about horrible grammar, only to have the wrong form of “pass” written within that very status.

200-19

It’s just like in that Sex and the City episode when Carrie Bradshaw receives a note from Natasha, Big’s new hot and young wife. And although Carrie was feeling really down in the dumps, her spirits were high when the note said, “I hope to see you their next year.”

e6c814727c41366dc9855141d3dac136

We definitely seem to be adding road rage to our everyday lives, and not just on the road. Eventually, we will all need anger management.

Here’s another example, thanks to Louis C.K. Only he can explain this one.

Annnnndddd I just watched about thirty Louis C.K. videos.

I guess my point in this post is obvious bad grammar in a rant or a spiritual picture/meme just cancels everything out. If I read an encouraging poster of a girl dancing on the beach and it says, “Lift You’re Spirits High”, all I can see is the wrong form of “you’re”. Nothing else. It doesn’t take much to grammar check before letting an inspirational poster go viral. Same goes with a Facebook argument. Even if I’m on the person’s side and their comment is a slew of words with no proper spelling, punctuation, and no conjunctions…I’ve changed my mind.

200w-2

So Grammar Police…keep blowing that whistle and grammar on.

It brings me joy.

Standard

13 thoughts on “Grammar Police

    • Oh of course! Hugeeee leap from Police to Nazi. We all know those people…they usually go as deep as saying your sentence structure is off because there is no possessive noun or something of that nature. I don’t think anyone really thinks that deep when it comes to Facebook statuses and tweets.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I would die inside all the time if I cared with the grammar police said to me. Don’t get me wrong, if people can barely spell, or use punctuation it is pretty distracting, but I always give a little leniency, unless I truly can’t understand what the heck they were saying.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mindy says:

    This is so spot on. For the most part you listen to another person while they’re talking to you, but it’s completely different when it’s written out. Grammar mistakes can be distracting, but I try and overlook them. I. Try. So. Hard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

