Humor, Internet Things, Social Media

First Tinder Experience

Dating blows. My brief college dating experience was pretty awful, confusing, and stressful that I’m so thankful it only lasted six months before I met Sam. Because I haven’t dated in five and a half years, I’ve been curious to know what it’s like outside of college. Is it any better? Is it easier or harder? I imagine it must be harder because you don’t have those random dorm parties to attend, or Thirsty Thursday where it was socially acceptable to meet the love of your life blackout drunk. When you’re 25 with a full time job, it’s not cute anymore.

Do you still have that awful texting relationship? Do you still stress about how the other person wrote “Hey” instead of “Heyy”? Or is that for petty eighteen year olds?

If I were single today, would I actually join Tinder? Probably not. There are so many dating sites out there, however do you choose? Blackpeoplemeet.com? Isn’t that kinda sorta racist? But then again, there’s Christian Mingle. Oh, let’s not forget about the Farmer’s Only Dot Com theme song. I have it stuck in my head right now.

200w-5

Tinder is known to have many run-ins with rude people who say disgusting things that you would never say to someone to their face. A friend from home came to visit us during this holiday weekend and he showed me the ropes of Tinder. It’s quite entertaining.

First of all, you’re totally judging the other person and can easily click the big “X” to make them go away. And then you can “Heart” someone, and that person gets a notification that someone, somewhere out there thinks you’re cute. I began hearting ladies in my area for our friend, clicking on girls I thought looked nice. I’m talking about the girls who are posed while hiking, and cuddling with puppies. Not the girls with heavy lip liner with a scowl on their face because they think it looks sexy. One girl named Hannah responded to my friends “heart”, which was more like my heart. My friend asked me to start the conversation with her, and I immediately began to panic. It brought me back to those horror days.

I clicked through her profile to see what her interests were. She was a USC student, loves the outdoors and animals, and is a lover of sarcasm. “BOOM. RIGHT THERE. NOBODY IN CALIFORNIA HAS SARCASM.” So I started off the conversation strong by stating that we need people like her to carry the sarcasm from the east coast to the west coast. She responded to “my friend” all happy that I said such things. He handed me the phone again to continue the conversation. At the end of the day, if felt like I was starting a relationship with this girl and she didn’t even know it was me.

I was catfishing someone. And I felt bad about it.

200w-6

I’m grateful that at the end of the day, I don’t have to actually use these sites.

I hear some people say, “Dating is so much fun!” I can’t help but think, “Good for you man.” If you’re having a positive experience dating, that’s just wonderful. Keep it up, whatever you’re doing.

One of my experiences was in college, when I “dated” a guy for a whole three days. It went fine until one day when we were hanging out, he decided to ditch me to smoke a blunt in the woods with his friend. Needless to say, I figured I wasn’t interesting enough for him to you know, just do it later. And secondly, I didn’t bother to talk to him again…which I’m sure he was too high to even notice. My dating stories don’t get any more interesting than that.

200w-7

I’m interested to hear all of your dating stories and how you feel about it!

Standard

4 thoughts on “First Tinder Experience

  1. Dating sucks. I have more horror stories than I care to recount. So much has changed in even four years! Nowadays I picture people exchanging info on Tinder, grabbing a ride together on Uber, and eventually honeymooning in an Airbnb. God, it’s a strange world out there…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

