Anecdote, Awkward, Humor, I Wasn't Worried, My Idea Of Being An Adult, Things I Should Have Solved A Year Ago

Dealing with Dealerships

I had an unfortunate event happen last week. The wonderful world of street parking is your own personal hell. Anything can happen. During the late evening hours, some impressive California driver decided to park in front of my car, but instead of the good old fashion parallel parking, he decided to drive into the spot, scraping my precious white paint with it. When he realized what he’d done, he backed up, scraping it one more time before fleeing the scene. This moment was told to me by my neighbor, who watched the event take place.

Luckily, there doesn’t seem to be much damage to the actual front bumper of my car, but the paint is an eyesore. I also noticed the tire pressure light was on, which meant it was time to take a trip to the dealership.

I hate going to the dealership. I avoid it like the plague. My first experience wasn’t pleasant, which was when I decided to lease my car during the first month of living in Long Beach. The salesmen are like leeches. They suck out all of your energy until you’re too tired to think, and then you sign just about anything to get out of that hell hole. When Sam and I were sitting in the tiny boxed office, discussing whether or not the deal they laid before us was a good one, they had the courtesy of telling us that we were wasting their time, and they have “families to feed.”

200-26

Once I was signing the papers for the car, they talked us into some insurance through the dealership, even though I just got off the phone with my insurance company. We first declined the promotion offer, and then, like we were denying a check for a million dollars they said, “Can I ask why you’re doing this?”

BECAUSE I DON’T NEED IT.

They tried to move on, but like some force of “kindness” to make sure we were doing the right thing, they felt the need to explain the upside to the insurance. We still denied it. The salesman’s hands started shaking because he felt defeated that he couldn’t help our poor souls understand the biggest mistake of our lives. He explained it again. And again. Before we both exploded and said, “FINE.”

In the end, we were defeated against the enemy.

Since I was getting my car serviced, I decided to pop over to the dealership and ask to remove the insurance from my monthly payments. I spoke with a financial officer and the same thing happened, only I was coming in stronger and ready to fight to the death.

“Can I ask why you’re doing this?” he asks. It’s a script. It’s just like the movie, The Truman Show!

200-27

“Because I’m trying to save money right now, and I just really don’t need it.”

He stares at me. He was so friendly before but now he’s gone cold.

“I just want to make sure you know what you’re doing, and the consequences you will face if you don’t have it.” The guy is acting like I’m creating a new disease in my science lab and testing it on a monkey.

“I understand.” But of course, everything he was saying was gibberish but after discussing it with Sam, we both knew I really didn’t need it. He takes a look at my address on my file.

“Ohhh, is that Belmont Shore?”

“Yes.”

“Well, you must be doing really, really well in life.”

200-28

My answer: *Nervous laugh* “….sure.”

Awkward silence.

“So, how is work going?” I realized on my file it probably says I still work at my previous office job.

I nod my head and say, “Work is going fine.” I just went with it because it’s none of his business how work is going, or even where I work now. To me, it’s a weird question to ask a stranger anyways. He nods his head in response.

I finally got to sign the papers that would set me free, and the man’s face that was once friendly had turned into disappointment. He looked like a father who just found out his kid stole candy from a convenience store: like a failure. I almost felt bad for him, but I quickly changed my mind when I realized he actually feels bad for me for my “stupidity”.

No matter what you do, you will be in an argument at the dealership. There’s no escaping it. It doesn’t have to include yelling or screaming, but very subtle disagreements that show tension between the two parties. The salesmen are tricky bastards and almost always win. But this time, I’m the winner.

200-29

Standard

3 thoughts on “Dealing with Dealerships

  1. I feel like some (many?) salespeople don’t know how to have a real conversation with someone because they are so used to selling selling selling, that they forget how to properly converse and not ask intrusive questions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s true! It’s amazing how upbeat and friendly they are in the beginning and then they just turn into crying toddlers when they don’t get their way. It’s extremely uncomfortable. It’s as if we just insulted their kids or something.

      Like

  2. Sherri Nevers Reyna says:

    It’s all about commission and making money. Period. End of story. They get a percentage of everything they sell from the car to the insurance and maintenance agreement. You are the means to a fatter check and that is all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

