Awkward, Beauty, Exercise, Food, Girls, I'm not a mommy blogger, My Idea Of Being An Adult, Things I Should Have Solved A Year Ago, You're Fine

It’s My Body, I Can Diet If I Want To

Y51aFguqRcGTgsYRYBXV_20140104_085932

I don’t like to talk about dieting, even if someone else brings it up. It has been an uncomfortable topic for me mostly because if I try to relate to it, I get the whole, “Oh my god, shut up. You don’t need to diet!” They genuinely get annoyed by me putting in my two cents. There are so many reasons why I hate when someone says that to me. First of all, it makes me feel stupid. Secondly, they don’t know my body like I do.

The only person who knows the inner workings of my insides is me. Like many other women, I know when I’m getting my period a good week before it happens. It’s just like how the air changes when there’s a storm coming, and you feel it rumbling in your gut even before it happens. My childhood dog used to eat the grass in the front lawn like a maniac right before a storm. It’s the same idea.

And nobody knows how my body reacts to food like I do.

As a teenager, I could head over to TGI Fridays and eat mozzarella sticks, a cheeseburger and fries, and an ice cream sundae afterwards, and that was just dinner. It took a lot of effort for me to gain any weight. My entire high school career I was 90 pounds and couldn’t even donate blood no matter how much I wanted to. I used to have a best friend who was overweight, and she always made me feel inferior and that I couldn’t help because what would I know, right? Then a shift changed in the universe: college happened. I can’t eat like that anymore. I’d say that’s pretty normal for anybody. I especially noticed my weight gain when I studied abroad. I traveled so much nearly every weekend, trying new foods and eating a lot of food on-the-go that I came back ten pounds heavier than when I left. I blame Italy for most of that.

So now, here I am, in my early to mid twenties, and I’m not happy with my body. But, like I stated before, I don’t announce to people that I’m on a diet because who wants to be the Debbie Downer? I don’t tell anyone because I’m pretty tired of how people react. I’m not overweight. I’m average. However, I am pretty short standing at 5’1”, so even the slightest bit of weight gain is noticeable. I’m going to tell you my reason for having a goal for myself, and it’s going to sound a little nutty to some of you.

I want to have kids. Not now, but I’d say in five years, it’s a possibility for me. It seems like forever away, but it’s really not.

200-30

I don’t want to look like a Victoria’s Secret model (well, that couldn’t hurt), but I’d just like to be comfortable so that when the time comes to grow another human inside of me and the doctor says to gain thirty pounds, I’m going to be okay with that. Right now, I’d laugh hysterically and ask if they are crazy. With the way my body reacts to eating a cheeseburger, my body will blow up like a balloon if I have to gain 30 pounds plus a baby. Does that make me selfish? Maybe. But that’s because I have no intention of having a baby right now.

Just because someone diets doesn’t mean they think they are fat. I don’t think I’m fat. I’m literally just trying to prepare my body, mind, and soul for the future child I give birth to.

200-31

Which means I cannot afford to gain any more weight. Period. If I want to be happy and healthy, I need to prepare now, especially if I plan to have more than one kid.

Another major reason for my diet control is I have a long family history of heart attacks and high blood pressure on my dad’s side of the family. Which means monitoring the way I eat. Why not start a habit now rather than wait for a big health risk in twenty years to get my priorities straight? It’s the first thing doctor’s start asking me about the second they look at my paperwork during my check-ups.

Is it an excessive diet? No, not really. But snacking on potato chips and eating pizza every night for dinner is not an option for me. Exercising regularly is a must. I splurge every once in a while. Like this past Saturday when I went to Hooters and shoved boneless wings in my face along with a cheesecake. But I will be paying for that during this whole week.

There are so many celebrities and inspirational memes telling you to love yourself and the body God gave you. I get that, I totally do. But there’s also nothing wrong with improving yourself to your own standards. Just because Demi Lovato says to love your body, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t strive for a better lifestyle.

I’m just tired of the misconception that people who are considered “thin” and “fit” are not allowed to have an opinion on diet control and weight loss. Everyone’s bodies work differently and they change throughout the years. Next time you have a friend who you consider thin talk about dieting and exercising, hear her out. There’s a chance she’s not trying to sound like an asshole.

Standard

8 thoughts on “It’s My Body, I Can Diet If I Want To

  1. I would think of it (or tell anyone) that you are dieting, just eating more healthy. Nothing wrong with that and it doesn’t become annoying. Instead of eating pizza, you are just having not pizza. Instead of eating all the pasta, you are just having less. It’s just about how you tell people (or don’t).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People who are thin and fit are that way for a reason: most of them watch what they eat, and exercise. A friend asked me recently whether I was still “on a diet” and I told her I am not dieting – this is simply a lifestyle change, and yes, I will continue with it because I need to prevent my diabetes, and with it all the potential health issues, from returning. You know what’s best for yourself – when other people roll their eyes at you, ignore them! Or tell them to F off. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate the whole “oh shut up, you don’t need to diet.” I get that even if I’m not actually on a diet, just if I’m eating healthier. I have a really thin frame. I have skinny arms and legs but I do not carry weight well at all. It all goes to my stomach so I can’t eat whatever I want all the time. I don’t think anyone should have to justify why they are on a diet or eating healthy. As long as you’re be safe and healthy about it, it’s no one else’s business but yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely! I’ve noticed people do not factor in shape/frame, or even height. I remember complaining to my friend a couple of years ago about my weight and when I told her the number, she was like, “What are you trying to say about me!?!” I guess she forgot she was like 5’8” while I’m 5’1″. Big difference.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

