Home, I Wasn't Worried, News, Out of the Ordinary, Travel, You're Fine

My 2016 Journey

I have some big, life-changing news. This Tuesday I will embark on a journey across America. I have made the decision to move back to New England! I don’t exactly have a plan as to what I’ll do once I reach that destination but life is full of surprises, isn’t it?

It will be me, myself, and a cat, and since the cat can’t drive, this road trip will be a doozy. I plan to make several stops along the way.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 2.25.48 PM

Unfortunately, since it’s January, my trip may need to be altered due to weather conditions, but here are the areas I will be visiting/staying, and any recommendations such as the largest ball of yarn are highly appreciated:

First Stop: January 12th – Phoenix, AZ

phoenix_1_0I originally wanted to drive the northern route, but damn winter. My first half of the trip will have to be the southern route which isn’t exactly fun. If anybody here has driven through Arizona and New Mexico, you know what I mean.

Distance: 374 miles, approximately 6 hours

Duration of stay: 1 night

What I plan to see: The Hole in the Rock

hole-in-the-rock-phoenix

Second Stop: January 13th – Roswell, NM

200-76

Where all the aliens live!

Distance: 578 miles, approximately 9 hours

Duration of stay: 1 night

What I plan to see: International UFO Museum and Research Center

 

 

Third Stop: January 14th – Wichita, KS

200-77I’ll just go and follow that yellow brick road through Kansas.

Distance: 568 miles, approximately 9.5 hours

Duration of stay: 1 night

What I plan to see: The Keeper of the Plains – Fire Lighting

 

 

Fourth Stop: January 15th – Chicago, IL/Hammond, IN

o-CHICAGO_IL_IMAGE-facebookI’ve got my dad’s side of the family in this area, and will be visiting them for the first time in almost 6 years!

Distance: 702 miles, approximately 10.5 hours

Duration of stay: 2 nights

 

 

Fifth Stop: January 17th – Niagra Falls

the-tragic-dangerous-and-sometimes-suicidal-aspect-to-niagara-falls-that-nobody-wants-to-393252I haven’t been to Niagra Falls since I was about ten years old. Depending on the weather situation, I’d love to see it again.

Distance: 533 miles, approximately 8 hours

Duration of stay: 2 nights

 

 

I will hopefully make it back to New England in one piece on January 19th. Of course everyone I talk to is concerned for my well-being given the fact that I’m a 24-year-old female driving cross country alone. I will have to resort to the basic rules of common sense:

  1. Don’t talk to strangers.
  2. Learn how to change a tire.

I actually really love driving, and driving alone. This could be a very pleasant experience. Or I will go mental. I’m dying to find out.

200-78

Standard

26 thoughts on “My 2016 Journey

  1. Sherri says:

    FYI: Make sure you arrive in Roswell at a decent hour. It is a cute and quaint little town and when I arrived there after 10 pm the hotel I had made arrangements with was closed. Make sure they have late check in if you will be arriving at night. Be safe! I’m jealous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will! It’s a long drive so I’ll be sure to leave first thing in the morning from Phoenix. I want to make sure I see the museum so I want to get there in mid-afternoon!

      Like

  2. Sherri says:

    There is a nice little breakfast place right off of the town square that I went to. The UFO Museum is right near by on the main drag. If you are interested I will find the name of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

