I Wasn't Worried, Internet Things, My Idea Of Being An Adult, Out of the Ordinary, Social Media, Things I Should Have Solved A Year Ago, You're Fine

Facebook-Free Challenge

As of February 9th, I am officially Facebook-free. Well, pretty much. You see, I’ve deactivated my account. As far as the rest of the world is concerned, I do not exist anymore. However, once you deactivate your account, you can easily activate it again by simply signing in like you normally would. Damn you Facebook for making it nearly impossible to be rid of you. You’re worse than cocaine. I’ve gathered all of my photos from the past nine years, stored them safely onto my computer, and happily removed the Facebook app from my phone, and I’m upset to say that I was slightly nervous about this. NINE YEARS I’ve been on Facebook, and now I’m giving it up with just the snap of my fingers. Facebook has been a habit for nine years of my life. It’s such a depressing thought to think about all of the other things I could have accomplished before my upcoming 25th birthday instead of waste time on Facebook.

Don’t get me wrong. Facebook was cool during the first year or two. But now, I’m in EVERYONE’S business, and everyone is in my business. For instance, I hate that sidebar that tells me So-and-So commented on Person-You’ve-Never-Heard-Of’s photo eight minutes ago. First off, I don’t care. Secondly, why is that my business? Thirdly, Facebook has unintentionally turned me into a creepy stalker, and I don’t like it at all! I’m finding things out that I wasn’t even looking for in the first place, and I feel very uncomfortable about that.

There are several other reasons for my hatred of this social media platform.

  1. The fact that Facebook can somehow tap into my conversations with other people, or what I look up on the internet. When I first looked into road tripping home from California, within 24 hours, articles on Facebook popped up titled, “10 Reasons Why You Should Go On A Road Trip During Winter”. I felt the walls closing in on me.
  2. At least half of my friends are trying to sell me products with every status update and invite.
  3. At least 75% of my friends are screaming politics where it’s not warranted. The VOTE-OR-DIE mentality needs to come to a stop. Now that I don’t have Facebook, I should be able to breathe again.
  4. Majority of the photos that pop up on my news feed, I don’t recognize anyone in the picture.
  5. I don’t like the thought of comparing my life to others. What better way to stop than to get rid of the direct source?
  6. Everyone is either over-the-top-crazy-happy and must announce it to the world, or everyone is unbelievably-bitter-and-must-complain-about-every-aspect-of-life-no-matter-how-irrelevant-it-is and must announce it to the world.

One of my first thoughts as I hovered my cursor over the “deactivate” button was, “What if I never see these people again?” Deep down, I know that my most important friends are just a phone call/text away. Why am I concerned with people I haven’t seen or spoken to in years? I’ve been living without them perfectly fine, I think I can live without their Starbucks pictures and traffic selfies.

Now that I am Facebook-free, I plan to do my best and put all of my energy into things that could make me a better person. For instance, actually completing my Goodreads Reading Challenge, volunteering (not just taking a photo of me volunteering and calling it a day), and focusing on myself instead of others. Simply doing the things I want to do without the fear of judgement from others. I think this is a start to a beautiful future.

200

Standard

16 thoughts on “Facebook-Free Challenge

  1. You finally did it! I have a feeling a lot of us are going to join you in the next few years. I miss the funny days of Facebook when people would update their status with something funny that happened to them during the day. Now everyone is too serious and braggy (new word).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are a lot of times I wish I could convince myself to do this. But I use Facebook so much for work (well, one of my jobs) that I don’t really think I could get away with it for long. It’s like I’m a junkie, making excuses for why I don’t need to quit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are so right about this. I think what I post is wildly interesting, of course, but I hate the “I’m on top of the world and everyone should be jealous of my great life” posts, that are immediately followed with “click like and share if you really care about me and send me a hug” (really? People are judging their self-worth with the number of likes or shares by strangers?) followed by “I don’t know what’s wrong with me but I’m at the lowest time in my life.”
    Now you can write more often 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My Life Six Months After Facebook | You're Fine

Leave a Reply

