Awkward, Connecticut, Home, Humor, I Wasn't Worried, My Idea Of Being An Adult, You're Fine

Surviving

Last week, I shared the wonderful news of accepting my first job since June of last year. That’s right! It took me almost nine months to find a job. That’s how fantastic our world is right now. At the point of accepting the position, I had less than two weeks to find a place to live. It was game time.

It’s not easy looking for an apartment, let alone a house. I can’t wrap my head around a house with actual land just yet. But, the upside is that this is my fourth apartment in four years. I luckily knew what to look for. Unfortunately, due to my timing, I couldn’t exactly be picky either. My new job is located in Norwalk, CT. For those of you not familiar with the area, Norwalk is basically located in between all of the other rich, snobby, and overpriced towns that my search for a new home was extremely limited. I thought for almost a moment that I would have to live in my car. My only choice was to look for apartments in Bridgeport. If you google Bridgeport, you may likely find this:

ffb0ccbf1573cd15c175d71a3097f70a875c60978859d92c913d7d91ea3ea7a0

Actual conversation between me and my friend:

Me: How is Bridgeport?

Her: We don’t talk about Bridgeport….

Welcome to my new home! I found a studio apartment in the North End of Bridgeport at a very decent price and I was ready to go for it. Of course, you may hit some bumps along the way.

For instance, if you’re looking in an actual apartment complex building, they want to know absolutely everything about you down to the last piece of cheese you bought from the grocery store. Please know, you don’t have to tell them EVERYTHING. There comes a point when it’s not actually their business so feel free to tell them some white lies in order to get what you want. At the end of the month, they are the ones guzzling down your bank account like a box of white wine.

This is my first apartment, alone. I’ve never lived by myself before and I’m actually looking forward to it. However, that means relying on myself entirely. Before, if a landlord or real estate company gave me a hard time about my application to live there, I would have normally shrugged and said, “Oh, darn,” and moved on because I always had someone else living with me. But this time was different. I didn’t have time to browse the entire state of Connecticut. I found the one I wanted and I wasn’t going down without a fight. Especially when you’re my age, and then shed about seven years off your face because everyone thinks you’re sixteen, you have to be kind of a hard ass in order for them to take you seriously. I wagered with them, struck deals, and made suggestions. I thought of every single thing I could think of to convince them that I would be the best tenant they could have ever hoped for. And I won. I felt like Jennifer Lawrence in Joy.

200-6

I’ve always thought of myself as an independent person without the opportunity to see how far my independence could take me. I actually impressed myself over the past couple of weeks with my need to survive in this world alone. So far, it’s going pretty smooth. Fingers crossed that it stays this way.

I started piling my things into my new place this afternoon, and will officially be a Connecticut resident starting tomorrow. I’ll probably post some DIY obsessions for the next few weeks as I make this apartment my own.

200-7

Standard

20 thoughts on “Surviving

  1. I enjoyed living alone. You get to decorate however you want / be as slobbish as you want. And oh, living off peanut butter sandwiches for a week because you just HAD to have that fancy lamp.
    Good luck!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

