Connecticut, Humor, I Wasn't Worried, My Idea Of Being An Adult, You're Fine

5 Things I’ve Learned Since Living Alone

Hello strangers!

It’s been two weeks since my last post. Yee gads! I’ve been busy adjusting myself to Connecticut and the new job, and having been living by myself for two weeks now, I’ve learned a few things.

1. You, and only you, will have to figure out how to reach the top shelf.

We short people have some issues we need to just fight through on our own. I’ve been going a little nuts on washi tape lately. For those of you who don’t know what washi tape is, it will be your new best friend.

Washi Tape is a thin layer of funky tape that you can decorate with, and it comes off easily without leaving a sticky mess. Example: These boring kitchen cabinets, and plain white switches now look like this:

20160314_213341 20160314_213352

You can find washi tape pretty much anywhere: Joann Fabrics, Etsy, Target, etc. Anyway, do you want to know how I got the tape on the top part of the cabinet? Stacking the clothes in my closet to make a stool. You have to be creative!

2. You are shopping for you, and only you.

Whether it’s groceries or furniture, every decision you make is based strictly on your wants and needs. It’s a weird feeling you have to get used to. For instance, if you’re like me and want to be financially savvy, go thrift shopping for furniture and you’ll find something amazing. I found these side tables that looked icky on the outside ($20 each):

20160313_141135

And now they look brand new:

20160313_184608

Oddly enough, my favorite part is the inside of the drawers:

20160314_213025

3. Living alone means having a lot of time to yourself, obviously.

The other night, I found my 7th grade yearbook. I glanced through the photos of braces and bad acne, remembering faces I haven’t seen since that daunting year. I came across a boy in my class who I had a huge crush on. I could barely talk around the kid without turning into a squished tomato. I clearly remember him messing with me a lot too by telling me he liked him, and then changed his mind at the drop of a hat. But I was thirteen, so whatever. I decided to Google the kid because I haven’t seen him since 2004. Well, let’s just say…I won at life. The first thing that popped up was an article about his arrest for robbing a bank, and he looked like a crack addict in his picture. I think I laughed for a solid twenty minutes.

200

4. Self-sufficiency

All last week I was sick with a nasty virus, and I’ve basically been coming home from work and collapsing into bed to get rid of the headache, coughing, soar throat, and runny nose. But when I run out of tissues, or need a glass of water, guess what? I’M THE ONLY ONE HOME THAT CAN GO GET IT. It doesn’t matter that whenever I sit up, I feel as though I might vomit. I have to suck it up and run to the sink and get the damn water myself. No telekinesis for me.

200-2

5. You will make mistakes.

You probablyyyy didn’t need a whole gallon of paint to decorate your new side tables with, but you brush it off by saying you’ll use the paint for other furniture, so it’s not a huge waste of money.

200w

Happy early St. Patty’s Day everyone!

Standard

11 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learned Since Living Alone

Leave a Reply

