Humor, I Wasn't Worried, Manic Monday, Writing, You're Fine

5 Struggles a Writer Might Experience

Maybe you’re a professional, successful, published writer with hundreds of credentials under your belt. Maybe you’ve been featured in The New Yorker. Maybe you’re a freelance writer with a writing gig once every few months. Maybe you’re an amateur like myself. But at the end of the day, we are all doing one thing, right? Writing. Here are five things I’ve struggled with as a writer.

1. You can’t find a pen.

200w-5

It seems that every time I get a boost of inspiration, I don’t have a pen on me. I’m then forced to pull an E.L. James and write everything in my stupid phone like a maniac. I won’t stoop so low and write an entire book in my phone like James. It explains so much now. After I spend five minutes digging through my bag, searching for the pen I know I used an hour ago, I pray to the writing Gods such as Fitzgerald and Plath that I remember this very thought until I make it home. It almost never happens.

2. Getting an epiphany in unlikely places.

200w-6

I could be at work and an idea will pop into my head that sounds so amazingly brilliant, but I still have another six hours left in my office chair before I can do anything about it. I’ve had writing epiphanies pop up in bars, on the subway, at the gym, in the car, etc. Those suckers can come out from anywhere. Beware.

3. Inspiration that fades quickly.

giphy-2

Once you get said epiphany, good luck holding onto that creative inspiration until you get home. I’ll write down the epiphany in hopes that once I’m in a warm and focused environment, I will be able to accomplish my amateur work. Almost never. Majority of the time, I get home, sit down to write, and then say, “Ehhhhhhh, let me sleep on it some more. I’ll get back to it later.” GOODBYE EPIPHANY.

4. Naturally Narcissistic

200-12

It’s common knowledge that many artistic people are narcissistic. If you consider yourself an artistic person and you argue this, you’re lying to yourself. Especially for nonfiction writers, because who are we mostly writing about? Ourselves. However, fiction writers do it too! I just started reading a book recently and the main character’s name was the same exact name as the author; first and last name, and all. Try to get past something like that without cringing. There is no right or wrong way to go about art, which explains why narcissism grows and grows and grows within the art community. We could say something so magnificently obscure and downright ridiculous, and nobody can sit there and tell us it’s false. We can smell our narcissism. It’s as potent as a football player’s sweaty jock strap.

5. Realizing you didn’t make up the cliché.

200-13

I’m not a fan of clichés. If I have to read that so-and-so was “dressed to the nines” one more time, I might toss myself out into the Atlantic. I think clichés are a cheap and easy way to get out of describing something in your own words. It’s lazy, vague, and unoriginal. With that being said, there have been times when I’ve written something and realized that I’ve added a cliché, unintentionally. It’s the type of cliché that I know I’ve heard somewhere, but it didn’t connect within my brain cells that I did not actually make it up. It’s a painful experience that I can’t shake for days afterward.

 

As bloggers, we are all writers. What struggles do you face everyday when it comes to your own writing?

Standard

20 thoughts on “5 Struggles a Writer Might Experience

  1. Yes. To all of this. Particularly the part where I have most of my more inspired ideas while I’m driving to and from work on the winding back roads of Floyd County. Not exactly a good time to jot something down. It’s nearly an hour commute, so I almost always lose it before I get where I’m going. So many great things that I’ll never remember to write about…

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s such a pain! It usually happens to me when I’m out with friends and a conversation reminds me of something. That’s around the time I start spacing out in the middle of a conversation like a weirdo.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. 2 & 3 are me all the way. It is so aggravating to be at work typing an email then get inspiration out of thin air, then I have to open Notepad, write my thoughts
    (with every spelling error known to man) quickly as possible, and finally I can get back to my email. I relate to this so much.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes…though I’ve never heard “dressed to the nines” before! Maybe I’ll try it it tomorrow, or annoy people on twitter with it haha. But seriously, you took the words right out of my head. I had an idea earlier today, didn’t write it down anywhere because I thought I would remember it, and now I have no clue what it was.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

