Humor, Internet Things, Rant, Sarcasm, Social Media, You're Fine

2016 Pet Peeves

It’s been a little over a year since my last post about my pet peeves which means I have a new set of pet peeves to share with all of you.

1. The Upcoming Election

I will not tell any of you who I’d prefer as president because to be quite honest, whether I say Trump or Clinton, I’ll get backlash for it no matter what, so what’s the point? There’s a pretty good chance I won’t even vote this year.

200-27

Before you’re all like, “JESS. YOU HAVE TO. IT’S YOUR AMERICAN RESPONSIBILITY.” I must make things clear that I actually don’t have to do anything. I have the RIGHT to vote, meaning, I don’t have to if I don’t want to.

Secondly, I’m responsible enough to realize that I’m not “in” with the politics enough to even make a decision. I don’t watch the debates/conventions because I’d rather knit my cat a sweater. I truly don’t understand most of it, so why sit through the drivel?

Before you’re all like, “You should try to understand it and educate yourself.” I should also be flossing more but I don’t do that either.

I’ve come to realize that no matter who becomes our next president, all I’ll hear are complaints for the next 4-8 years just like we do with every president. MOVING ON.

2. “The Game” on Social Media

What I’m about to complain about will make me sound like I’m five. But I don’t care. Every person I’ve talked to about this has admitted it bothers them as well. I’m looking at you, Paul! Paul and I called it, “The Game”.

It’s when you find someone you knew from maybe work, or high school, or college, and you follow them. We will use the Instagram platform for this as it seems to matter the most to me. I’ll follow that person, genuinely wondering what they have been up to. And then they post something the next day and you realize….that motherfucker never followed you back. This has been happening to me a lot lately and I can’t seem to figure out why. I’m not talking about people I briefly met four years ago. I’m talking about people I’ve known since THE FIRST GRADE. People I worked with EVERY SINGLE DAY. It’s insulting, really. I stumbled across this app called Followers + for Instagram. I felt silly downloading it but it tells you your stats for your Instagram account, and since I’m promoting my artwork on there, it seemed like it would be useful. There’s a section on the app that tells you who unfollowed you, or who you may be following and they haven’t reciprocated, and vice versa. I decided to take a look at who never followed me back. It was either a huge mistake, or a complete blessing because it was an alarming number of people. A ridiculous number of people I went to middle school, high school, and college with. I recently followed a guy I knew all throughout high school and he never acknowledged it. AND WE WENT OUT ON A DATE. My big brother from my grad program? Ignored me. A girl I stayed with in California for an entire month? Ignored me.

You guys are my friends. Am I not a likable person or something? I understand none of you have met me, but my personality on my blog pretty much mirrors my personality in person. There’s really not much of a difference. I may have a slightly bigger nose than you imagined but that’s it. I understand that a lot of people may just be oblivious and not notice when someone they know follows them. But after YEARS of the same person liking and commenting on their photos, you’d think they’d stop and be like, “Hey, who is that? I must know them, right?”

Well, being the five year old that I am, I unfollowed all of these people. It was satisfying to say the least. Here I was, kind of caring about their lives and the feeling wasn’t mutual. BYE FELICIA.

You know, I always felt a strong connection with Josie Gellar in Never Been Kissed for this exact reason.

giphy-5

3. Combining Couples Names

Tiddleswift? Really? I feel like this should have died years ago. When did this start? 2009? 2010? It’s been going on for way too long.

200-28

4. Spilling your guts on Instagram and Twitter

I’m talking about the quotes that say, “I don’t remember what it’s like to not feel broken.” Leave that shit on Facebook if you feel compelled to tell everyone you’re depressed about something. Isn’t that what Facebook has become? Everyone’s therapy? Don’t bring Twitter and Instagram into that mess. Those are places for happy and funny thoughts, along with a massive amount of puppy pictures.

5. Instachat?

STORY TIME.

I had a Snapchat once. I deleted it after a day because I thought it was stupid.

image1


What are some of your 2016 Pet Peeves? Please share your annoyances with me.

Standard

25 thoughts on “2016 Pet Peeves

  1. Oh God, this election is a huge pet peeve for me as well. The candidates are awful. The people that won’t shut the hell up about the candidates are awful. Everything is awful. And I think I’m with you on the whole not voting this year. I’m just way to cynical and have come to realize that sadly my vote means nothing anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you on the election. And the follower thing, while annoying, doesn’t bother me too much. If you don’t follow, I’ll live and if I unfollow someone else, they will live too. But good for you for unfollowing those people that don’t follow back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha yes, I really hate that it bothers me so much because it’s so silly and I have more important things to worry about. But it’s there, hovering over my head like a flea.

      Like

      • Yeah, and we know how annoying fleas can be. I know. There are little things that bother me that don’t bother other people at all. So you know, we all have our little pet peeves. Like for instance calling pet peeves that.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Your pet peeves are my pet peeves. Have you noticed that all 5 of them involve people being stupid? Swift and here Middleditch or whatever his irrelevant name is need to stop kissing on beaches awkwardly. Enough already. Go buy some bread at a bakery or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel a special connection to each of these peeves. Especially the first one. Every time I see a political ad, I get nauseous. Are these two really the best that America has to offer us? I weep for the future. And by future, I mean the next three months. And the following four years.

    However, I am guilty of not always following people back when they follow me on Instagram or Twitter. But it’s usually people that I don’t know very well. For example, today someone new followed me on Instagram, but it’s someone that I’ve only known for a few weeks and I just didn’t feel the obligation to return the favor. On Twitter it’s because I like the feeling of having more followers than people I follow… I know that’s stupid.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t usually follow someone unless I’ve met them and I know I’m going to be consistently seeing and talking to them. It only bugs me when it’s people I’ve known for years and they’re just like, “Ehhh.” Haha of course I don’t know if that’s their actual reaction. I do feel silly that it even bothers me but there it is! Haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s definitely my response to friend requests on the Facebook. I seem to be getting a lot of those from complete strangers who have no mutual friends. They get dismissed immediately. I can’t accept a Facebook friendship unless I know the person. When I first got on Facebook I would be okay with accepting any friend request, but that was because I thought I could entice strangers to read my blog. But those people never read my blog. I have been bothered by the discovery that people I’ve known for years unfriended me without a word. It shouldn’t bother me, but it kind of does.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

