Anecdote, Humor, Internet Things

#DescribeYourselfin3FictionalCharacters

I did a twitter thing this morning and participated in a hashtag game. I don’t know who starts these daily hashtag trends but there’s always one particular hashtag other than the recent #Brangelina that people like to play along with. For instance, #WhatWouldMillenialsDo and #TheUSin3Words.

Anyways, I decided to play with the #DescribeYourselfin3FictionalCharacters bit this morning but I wanted to back up my claims with a few real-life examples as to why I fit these fictional characters.

1. April Ludgate

5c948297f52371f71f87872f1e763d5a-12-april-ludgateApril always looks like she’s about to slice and dice someone. I’ve only seen the first few episodes of Parks and Recreation, but from what I’ve learned, April is a bit of a grump mostly because she has zero patience for stupid people and stupid things.

My example: A few years ago, I got called into a meeting at work. A meeting that I had absolutely nothing to do with, but my manager at the time felt like I needed to listen into the conversation. It was a property management company, and the maintenance man named Stan discussed the possibility of power washing the buildings. My manager, Jill, looked up from her iPhone with her perfectly painted ruby red nails with enthusiasm.

“OH! Can you please power wash the trees?” she asked. I stopped taking notes and grabbed a handful of peanut butter pretzels, shoving all of them into my mouth to prevent me from snorting.

Stan stopped for a moment and stared.

“Uh…yeah, sure. I can…power wash the trees,” he answered. What a doll, I thought.

“Oh, good. I hate dirty trees,” Jill said.

200w

2. Pam Beasley

7824721ae4e29abb475109893a3dc265You might think that I’m tooting my own horn by saying I’m like Pam Beasley. Everyone wants to be Pam Beasley. She ends up with Jim Halpert for crying out loud! But I truly believe everyone has a little bit of Pam Beasley in them. She’s a pushover who loves a good laugh. She’s also incredibly awkward.

My example: I’ve been working at my current job for six months now, and some people still don’t know my name. There is one woman I work with who tends to spew out sentences that come off as…not so nice. Only she doesn’t realize that it’s not so nice. One day, she popped her head up from her computer and glanced at me. When I caught her staring, I jumped, startled by her presence for just an instant.

“I just really hate looking at you…” she said.

*long pause*

“….oh,” I answered. After what felt like 20 years, she finally continued this not-so-nice sentence.

“You’re just so young…”

sd3. Jessica Day

jess-new-girl-hair

Just like Jessica Day, I sing when not asked to sing, I dance when not asked to dance, I break for birds and squirrels and basically any animal I would consider hugging, I make cat noises when I feel it’s appropriate, and I basically just want to be your friend. She’s also really terrible at flirting.

My example: I have too many so I’m just going to list them all.

  • If you’re in close proximity of me, there’s a 99% chance I will smack you in the face by accident.
  • I wear a lot of dresses.
  • If I try to be “sexy”, I look like an idiot.
  • While my friends were flirting with guys in a bar, I somehow struck up a conversation with a sixty-something-year-old former Red Sox player. And it was an awesome evening.
  • I once got stuck in an elevator for two hours.
  • I think pick-up lines are hilarious and I wish guys used them more.
  • I like to bake cookies and cupcakes, and bedazzle them.
  • Any scene where Jessica Day makes a fool of herself, just think of me.

ghdffgdfgdgf

gfghfh

ghftgh

Please share your fictional characters with me.

Standard

16 thoughts on “#DescribeYourselfin3FictionalCharacters

  1. I really can’t think of which fictional characters are me at the moment. I’ll have to get back to you on that one. But I just can’t get over that you found a coworker staring at you and her response was, “I just really hate looking at you.” In what universe is this normal behavior?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny, some friends of mine recently got into a Twitter debate about whether or not Pam was a good person. One of them kind of had a point… I mean, she did kind of string Jim along for a few years, despite being engaged to another dude. And just when Jim was on the verge of finding happiness elsewhere, Pam would swoop back in and yank his chain. But that’s not important.

    I’m really glad you gave all those examples of how you’re like Jess. Now all I can think of is, why don’t you have your own sitcom?

    And I’ve thought about this three character thing before. I must have missed this hashtag on Twitter, but I’ve got my three. Actually, for years I’ve said I was an amalgam of three characters. Feel free to guess. I won’t reveal it here because I’m totally stealing this idea and doing my own post on my own blog. Just don’t sue me, okay?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha I’ve heard this debate too about Pam Beasley, however, I just think she was in denial, as we all tend to be! Plus, how could you not get jealous when Jim is off canoodling with another woman? I was jealous just watching it on my TV. And I really wish I had my own sitcom. I definitely sing the New Girl theme song to myself from time to time which is perfect since we have the same name.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha all three of these are exactly you. I’m having a hard time thinking of my three. Maybe you can help make suggestions. My sister has a list of about 40 people that I look like/remind her of but I don’t think any of them is fictional. One of them is Jimmy Kimmel is that counts. I feel like me and him are the same. Also on her list is Winnie the Pooh and Yogi Bear, so… Can’t believe I just shared that. Running away now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: #DescribeYourselfin3FictionalCharacters – The Confusing Middle

  5. Pingback: The Confusing Middle’s Top 10 Blog Posts of 2016 – The Confusing Middle

Leave a Reply

