Awkward, Humor, I Wasn't Worried, I'm not a mommy blogger, My Idea Of Being An Adult, Thoughts, Writing, You're Fine

Conversation with Sixteen-Year-Old Jess

*Dials number to Sixteen-year-old Jess, fully aware that the ringtone is a Boys Like Girls song*

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Hey, hey, hey! Who is this?

Current Jess: I forgot how annoying you were…

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Okay, seriously. Who is this?

Current Jess: This is Jess…from the future.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: That’s impossible. I don’t believe you.

Current Jess: You’re probably wearing a really tacky and unfashionable Hollister sweatshirt right now.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: That doesn’t prove anything. Everyone has those sweatshirts. Tell me something nobody else knows.

Current Jess: You never read the first Harry Potter. And you read the rest of them completely out of order.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: That was a really lame example…

Current Jess: Okay fine. You kissed Aidan Murphy in the fifth grade…

Sixteen-year-old Jess: *GASP* What do you want? Why are you holding this against me?

Current Jess: He had extremely chapped lips and it freaked you out…

Sixteen-year-old Jess: EW. STOP.

Current Jess: I’m here to fill you in about life.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: How old is future Jess right now?

Current Jess: I’m 25.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: *Sighs* I can’t wait to be 25. I’m going to go to Clark University and study anthropology. Or I’ll go to the Art Institute of Boston and become an art teacher. 25 is going to be amazing.

Current Jess: *Chuckling* Oh Jess…none of that happens.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: What do you mean none of that happens? I had a plan!

Current Jess: I know you do. You were stuffing college brochures in your desk drawer since you were thirteen.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Did I at least study abroad in England like I always wanted to do?

Current Jess: Yes. I will gladly tell you that you accomplished that. Congratulations.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Okay, well at least that’s something. So what happened to the rest of it? You’re 25. You’re supposed to be set in your career. Am I an art teacher? Do I work in a fancy office? Do I wear nice clothes? Do I have my own apartment? Am I getting married soon?

Current Jess: Whoa, whoa, whoa. Slow down, Lassie. First of all, you never became an art teacher. You studied art history.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: But I hate art history.

Current Jess: You grew up and changed. It happens to all of us. You also like broccoli now.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: So what do I do for a living?

Current Jess: I’m not going to dive too far into that one because it’s messy, frustrating, chaotic, and frankly, you’ll want to punch me in the throat.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: What about marriage? Am I getting married soon?

Current Jess: No, probably not.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: *hyperventilating* WHY NOT?

Current Jess: I don’t know, dude. Calm down. You can’t just marry the first guy to pay attention to you. It doesn’t work like that. Take your time. You haven’t even figured the career part out yet.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: But there is so much I wanted to do. I wanted to teach English to schoolchildren in Nigeria. I wanted to backpack through China. I wanted to hole myself up in a cabin in Washington State, away from everyone else for a little while. Kind of like Johnny Depp but without the mental breakdown.

Current Jess: There’s still time. Just because you haven’t done those things by the age of 25 doesn’t mean you need to write them off the list entirely.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: What about my friends? I still have my friends, right?

Current Jess: Eh. Not really. Only a select few. But that’s okay. You enjoy being by yourself, remember?

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Yeah, I suppose. But what happened to those friends?

Current Jess: You just realized they weren’t the best people to be around. Quality means more to you than quantity.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: So, what’s your plan now?

Current Jess: I don’t really have one.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: What do you mean you don’t have one? This is our life you’re screwing with!

Current Jess: Remember when you were around three-years-old, and you used to go with mom to her night classes at Lesley? And you would walk ahead of her through Harvard Square?

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Yeah. I would pretend I was a Harvard student even though I was three.

Current Jess: Exactly. That’s when you started dreaming about college.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Get to the point, please.

Current Jess: My point is you’ve been planning your life out since then.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Since I was three…

Current Jess: Yes.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: So you’re saying I’m a lunatic.

Current Jess: Yep. That’s exactly what I’m saying. Stop planning and start living.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: How do I do that exactly?

Current Jess: Don’t think. Just do. Just be happy. That’s all that matters.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: Okay. I guess that’s decent advice. Can you just tell me one thing?

Current Jess: Shoot.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: You’re still with Tristian, right?

Current Jess: HAHAHAHAHAAHA. Nah. He’s married to some Romanian girl now.

Sixteen-year-old Jess: What?!

Current Jess: Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. *click*

Standard

17 thoughts on “Conversation with Sixteen-Year-Old Jess

  1. My teenage self would probably be too shy to talk to me. Truth.
    But seriously. I think too much, too. Sometimes, that’s a good thing and it leads me to understand things better–but sometimes, it gets to the point where it doesn’t do me any favors. I completely relate on that note.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha I was pretty shy back in the day too. I wasn’t entirely comfortable with myself yet. I definitely think too much sometimes, and then I do my best to stop myself. Anytime I see myself making a full blown plan, I have to remember that’s it’s just a vague idea of a plan, and it’s okay if it doesn’t work out.

      Like

  2. I laughed when you called your 16 year old self Lassie. The rest of this is too real and it seems like it happens to most of us. Not sure when we cross over from that “anything is possible” phase to “I don’t wanna get out of bed today” phase.

    This post also reminded me that we had weird ring tones back in the day lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • The “I don’t wanna get out of bed today” phase happens far too often haha. I find it funny that so many teachers and adults expect 18-year-olds to figure out what they want to do for the rest of their life. Majority of the people I know ended up doing something completely different than what they studied in school. And I had so many ridiculous ring tones as a teen. Too much Fall Out Boy happening there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Was Dance Dance a ringtone of yours? I could see it. Yeah, asking a high school student to make a life altering decision that costs real money is the stupidest thing about life. Many years ago there was a Grade 13, maybe we should go back to that concept.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha no I don’t believe I had Dance Dance. It may have been Sugar We’re Going Down. I recently downloaded that song again because I completely forgot about it and it brought back so many memories. I think Grade 13 would be splendid but at the same time, I was so ready for college, even though looking back on it now, I should have focused a little bit more on what I wanted. I also didn’t have much of an option as far as colleges went haha I sort of had to make lemonade with my lemons. Instead I made a very bitter, unsweetened batch of lemonade that left me in tears.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true, I was ready to move on from high school. Everyone was starting to get too cool for everything. That being said, I felt like I sleep walked through first year. Lemonade isn’t that great anyways in my opinion haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

