My Idea Of Being An Adult, Out of the Ordinary, Thoughts, Travel, You're Fine

Welcome to Charleston

I can’t be the only one who has that one month out of the year when a series of unfortunate events takes place. For me, that month is January. It happens nearly every year when it seems my walls come crashing down. My walls are by no means sturdy.

However, I just spent nearly a week in Charleston, South Carolina. Yes, it was fun and relaxing, until I came home to a flat tire in the parking garage of the airport, and then a letter from the unemployment office in California, which I won’t go too far into, that would make anyone’s heart stop. By the time I put my bags down, I was ready to fall into tears and fly back to South Carolina to avoid life in general.

Luckily, I will be going back to South Carolina very, very soon. Colleen and I decided to move there. Since my lease is up at the end of February, it’s very important that we make this happen as soon as possible.

Colleen and I sat in the living room of her friend Zach’s apartment while him and his roommates were off at work. We grabbed a bottle of wine, blank sheets of paper, and jotted down the pros and cons to living in Charleston, Washington D.C., and New Hampshire/Maine.

Let me fast forward to when we were leaving Charleston and Colleen was chatting up the Uber driver. He was confused as to why we could just pick up and move without a care in the world.

“What about your jobs?” he asked.

“Well, we don’t really like our jobs,” Colleen answered. The Uber driver laughed hysterically.

“Nobody likes their job!” he said.

It was at this moment I wanted to jump out of the car. I’ve come to really despise that excuse.

Yes, I realize not everyone likes their job, and that’s unfortunate. But there are people out there who love their job. I don’t see what’s wrong with wanting a job I enjoy. One of Zach’s roommates named Jack went on and on about how much he loves his job, and he gets up much earlier than he needs to because he can’t wait to go to work. That right there is the kind of life I want.

I can’t understand why people just accept the reality that they don’t and probably will never like their job. Then why are you doing it? There are bills to pay, and rent, and the overall need to live. I’ve been living this life since I graduated college almost four years ago. But in my downtime, I’ve been searching for other opportunities. It may seem like I’m flaky and I jump from job to job, but that’s because I’m scared of getting too comfortable in a field I don’t actually have an interest in. Even though I haven’t been successful in finding something I love, I at least have been trying. I haven’t given up. I don’t have a reason to. I’m not married, or even in a relationship, and I have no kids. I have no excuses.

Back to when Colleen and I were sipping wine and going over the ideas of living in three entirely different places, we had to be realistic.

Washington D.C. is too stuffy and expensive. It’s also a place Colleen is used to and she needs a change of pace and environment.

New Hampshire/Maine was ideal in the sense that my family is there, and New England is where our heart is. We love the seasons, the beaches, and the people. But the job market is terrible. All I thought about was how I would end up a waitress again, scrubbing the chocolate pie out of my apron every night and smelling of french fries. New England is the type of place I’d like to end up once I feel a bit more established. I just don’t feel comfortable enough there.

Even though Charleston is far away from our families, we have more connections to the job market than we do anywhere else. We have a better chance of succeeding. It seemed like the obvious choice. Even if I do have to serve food for a little while, at least it’s not in my hometown where I feel like I have just given up. I’ll feel more motivated to make it all work.

So, even though January tends to give me a headache, at least I have something exciting to look forward to.

I’m certainly tired of moving. I’ve lived in three different states in the last three years. I’m exhausted. But until I find my place in the world, I won’t stop. I don’t know if Charleston is my forever home, and I’m okay with that. Maybe I’ll fail, or maybe I’ll thrive. But it’s worth a shot.

image19

image112

Standard

27 thoughts on “Welcome to Charleston

  1. I applaud you. Going against the grain is tough when naysayers offer up advice, but I agree that searching for work you love is a worthwhile endeavor. Charleston is beautiful. I’m not far away in Savannah and love the weather, people, and seasons in this region. All the best to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, that’s incredible to hear, Jess! I’m so happy to hear about your impending move and I wish you the best. New opportunities await in South Carolina. 🙂

    I’m so tired of DC and I’ve only been here for 7 months. I’m planning on moving away once my lease is up…blog post about that coming sometime. I love so much about this city and feel incredibly comfortable here, but it is SO stuffy and SO expensive. The majority of people my age come here to work…and that’s all they do. I came here because I wanted to and even though I’ve enjoyed my time here, it’s hard to connect with fellow twenty-somethings here who aren’t so career oriented. I’ve realized over the past couple months that I moved to DC to find out what I don’t want–and that has been incredibly rewarding.

    Life is short–we should like our jobs and we should like our environments. Here’s to new opportunities!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I love D.C. as well but there was just something about it that didn’t sit right with me but we were too scared to admit right away. Charleston is definitely less distracting that I feel I’ll be able to focus on a job, whatever that may be, but still have a good time. It’s rated #1 city in America to live in, so we clearly can’t go wrong giving it a shot haha

      Like

  3. Go for it girl. I really respect you not settling, and I don’t think moving from job to job is flaky at all. I don’t get why we are expected to just stick something out if it is making us unhappy. Especially for younger people. How are we supposed to know exactly what we like, and want to do for the rest of our lives? Now is the time to explore and take some chances to figure it out. I commend you for having the courage to do so!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love my job and the people I work with. When you love what you do, it isn’t work. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with making changes in order to find what brings you contentment. I never thought I’d reach this point until I got here. Honestly, I’m sure the vast majority of people just get by in life, doing whatever they have to do just because they have to do it. But if the possibility exists for you to improve your situation, go for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Auntie Dy says:

    Good for you Jess ! Take the bull by the horns . You are the creator of your own destiny and you get nowhere in life without taking chances . Love you to bits 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ready for a comment that is different from the rest?

    The first thing I thought of when I read this was, you have to get a dog and give it a monocle and top hat and name it Charles.

    Anyways, good for you and good luck! (That came off sarcastic, but it wasn’t. Haha)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s odd that my husband and I are having the same type of conversations that you and Colleen have been having. We have lived outside of New York City forever, and are looking down the road to retiring. As you know from Orange County, that area of California and this area of NY are among the most expensive in the world. My husband went to college in New Hampshire, I spent summers in Vermont. But we absolutely love Maine. On the other hand, most of his family is in Florida and South Carolina (I love Charleston, even when it’s 103 degrees) so we’ve talked a lot about moving there. Or staying here because most of our kids and all of our grandchildren are here. But so expensive without full-time pay. Decisions, decisions. I hope you find what you’re looking for.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I went to school in New Hampshire as well! It’s where I grew up. So of course, New England will always feel like home no matter what. But you’re right, it is expensive. Life in general is expensive. But it’s the perfect place to live once your life is a little more settled, which mine is not. I’m finally close to my family after so many years, and now I’m moving away again which is a bummer. I hope you and your husband figure out what you’d like to do! It’s definitely one of the hardest decisions to make.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

